FIFA World Cup trophy: All you need to know


With the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar started, we’ve all started to envisage our favorite players carrying the iconic golden trophy across the desert sands in December. The history of the FIFA World Cup is as fascinating as the countless matches it has witnessed. Despite all of the pain, suffering, and joy, the World Cup trophy has an incredible story to tell. The most renowned trophy in sports, readily recognized anywhere on the earth, has had a tumultuous history. Despite the fact that the World Cup first took place in 1930, the trophy is only 50 years old.

The FIFA World Cup trophy, a new design launched in 1974, is now presented to football world winners. The new model attracted 53 applications from 7 different regions, but Silvio Gazzaniga of Italy was ultimately chosen. The FIFA World Cup trophy stands 36.5 centimeters tall and weighs 6.175 kg. It is comprised of 75% 18-karat gold. The base is round with a diameter of 13 cm and is built of multiple sheets of malachite.

Regarding the FIFA World Cup Trophy


The FIFA World Cup Trophy is one of the sport’s most renowned honors. After an Olympic gold medal, it is possibly the most precious piece of metal. Modern football fans, on the other hand, may be unaware that the World Cup trophy has not always had the same appearance, However, two separate trophies have been used in the history of the FIFA World Cups. In this post, we’ll look at the origins and history of this well-known piece of the prize.

The Jules Rimet Trophy

The Jules Rimet Cup was the first trophy awarded to FIFA World Cup winners. Winners got this trophy from 1930 to 1970. The previous trophy was initially called “Victory.” In its early years, this trophy was known as the World Cup or Copa du Monde. In 1946, the Jules Rimet Trophy was renamed. This modification honors Jules Rimet, a former FIFA president who voted to hold the first FIFA World Cup in 1930. The French football executive served as FIFA’s third President from 1921 to 1954. He passed away in 1956.


Abel Lafleur, a French artist, created the Jules Rimet award in 1930. The award was 14 inches (35 cm) in height and weighed 8.4 pounds (3.80 kg). The prestigious award was crafted of sterling silver with gold plating and included a sapphire stone base. The centerpiece of the award was a winged depiction of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Victory. Nike’s statue was placed atop an octagonal stone block. Before the 1954 World Cup, a wider version of this foundation was created to accommodate the names of new winning nations. The trophy was officially retired following Brazil’s third World Cup victory in 1970. Brazil was allowed the option to keep the trophy following their triumph in Mexico, according to Jules Rimet’s preparations.

The Trophy was Stolen

The 1966 World Cup trophy was robbed when it was on exhibit in Westminster’s Methodist Central Hall, barely four months before the event. Scotland Yard and other law enforcement agencies made every effort but were unsuccessful in locating the prize. One week later, a dog named Pickles and his owner were out on a walk when they discovered the trophy, which had been left wrapped in the newspaper next to a parked car.

Pickles received a medal and a prize for his discovery, making him a national hero. Because of the brave dog, England’s skipper, Bobby Moore, was allowed to hoist the iconic Jules Rimet Trophy at Wembley Stadium after his side defeated West Germany in the final game.

Trophy Stolen Again

Brazil’s National Team won the 1970 World Cup for the third time and was awarded the Jules Rimet Trophy in perpetuity, as was customary at the time. The actual trophy, however, was stolen for the second time in 1983 from the Brazilian Football Confederation office in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and was never recovered.

Fifa World Cup Trophy Made Of?

The weight of the FIFA World Cup trophy is 6.175 kg. Jules Rimet’s award weighed 3.80 kg. Many experts believe the new prize is hollow. They said that if the trophy was constructed of pure gold and weighed between 70 and 80 kilos, it would be too heavy for the victorious team to hold. FIFA has established new standards regarding trophy custody. The original trophy is not awarded to either the winners or subsequent winners. FIFA provides them with a gold-plated bronze replica. West Germany became the first team to win the new World Cup trophy in 1974. The present FIFA World Cup trophy, which has a maximum capacity of 17 nation names and years, will most likely be retired after the 2038 World Cup.

Tour of FIFA World Cup Trophy


In subsequent World Cups, FIFA and Coca-Cola have toured throughout the world with the new trophy to promote the World Cup. It allows thousands of soccer fans to watch football’s most valuable prize and a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to behold the trophy in person, More than 220,000 people in Russia and across the world had the opportunity to see the famed trophy in person before the 2018 World Cup. The 32 qualifying teams are among the 51 nations and territories where the Trophy Tour will make visits in 2022. Kaká and  Iker Casillas, both previous World Champions, will travel the world with the trophy.

To Wrap It Up!

Football world champions are now awarded the FIFA World Cup trophy, a new version introduced in 1974. The new model received 53 applications from seven different nations, but Silvio Gazzaniga from Italy was picked in the end. The FIFA World Cup trophy is composed of gold and is 36.5 cm in height and weighs 6.175 kg. It is made of gold that is 75% 18 karat. The base is 13 centimeters in size and made up of two plates of metal.

Leave a Reply